Creating an Asperger’s / autism-friendly home sanctuary

I think this post will helpful in teaching myself self care. I’m very bad about housework, either because I’m in my own world, exhausted when you get home from my regularly scheduled activities that may have been overstimulating, or maybe depressed or anxious. Right now my normally spacious studio is full of boxes of my pottery, an avalanche of paper, and dishes. At this point I think I shut down and only want to nap when you get home.

When I get overwhelmed like this, it stays in this condition for weeks. I am working to figure it out. I was diagnosed as being on the spectrum a couple of weeks ago. And ADD, and both those diagnoses make sense.

I hope that I can find the way to make my own home environment more livable.

the silent wave

Asperger’s/autism is usually characterized by sensory sensitivity–that is to say that we’re more sensitive to (and thus, by necessity, more particular about) our surroundings.  It is indeed possible to not be extra-sensitive to one’s surroundings and still meet the diagnostic criteria (I’ve bolded the relevant parts for emphasis):

B – Restricted, repetitive patterns of behavior, interests, or activities, as manifested by at least two of the following, currently or by history

  1. Stereotyped or repetitive motor movements, use of objects, or speech (e.g., simple motor stereotypes, lining up toys or flipping objects, echolalia, idiosyncratic phrases).
  2. Insistence on sameness, inflexible adherence to routines, or ritualized patterns of verbal or nonverbal behavior (e.g., extreme distress at small changes, difficulties with transitions, rigid thinking patterns, greeting rituals, need to take same route or eat same food every day).
  3. Highly restricted, fixated interests that are abnormal in intensity or focus (e.g., strong attachment to or…

View original post 2,177 more words

One thought on “Creating an Asperger’s / autism-friendly home sanctuary

Leave a Reply

